古罗马女神大理石头像

公元2世纪

材质

尺寸

高: 30.4厘米(12英寸)

编号

34839

价格

价格另洽

Download PDF

咨询

  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • 这个字段是用于验证目的,应该保持不变。

概述

乍一看,这尊戴着王冠的美丽女性头像,似乎是古代风格的女神头像,即模仿古希腊风格;这种归因是基于螺旋形卷发的形状。然而,古代女神像最典型的发型是不同的,几乎总是把长发从头部中间分开,然后分成几缕又长又硬的螺旋状发辫,对称地披在肩膀两侧;此外,还有卷曲的发缕垂在耳前。

虽然在这尊头像的太阳穴处,明显地看到两卷相似的浓密螺旋状卷发,其形状看起来就像挡板,而类似的螺旋状卷发形成了发型的下部,但发型的其余部分则略有不同。这种发型由卷在头顶上的发丝组成,就像头巾一样,是图拉真-哈德良时期(Trajan-Hadrian,公元2世纪初)古罗马女性的典型发型。人们在当时的发型中,以及哈德良的妻子萨比娜(Sabina)皇后的画像中,都发现了类似的三角形头发。

这一特点有助于准确确定这尊大理石头像的年代,但对所代表的人物还没有定论(对于完整的人物,特殊的服装或附加特征可能有助于识别)。王冠象征着女神或女王,也有可能是以女神或女王的身份出现的理想化人物。

在希腊化时期,僵硬的螺旋状发髻,也是生命女神伊西斯(Isis)或爱神哈索尔(Hathor)等埃及女神的典型发型。托勒密王后的形象,也采用了她们的发型。这尊头像额头上方一排排的垂直头发(典型的短螺旋发)、较大的螺旋状卷发和头顶王冠的组合,类似于托勒密公主克里奥帕特拉(Cleopatra)的造型,她是托勒密六世和克里奥帕特拉二世的女儿,在历史上被称为克里奥帕特拉·西娅(女神)。她的肖像在钱币材料中得到了证实。她成为塞琉古(Seleucid)女王,是三位塞琉古国王的妻子,也是另外三位国王的母亲。她是一位杰出的女性,甚至独自统治,这在塞琉古帝国的历史上史无前例。她是克里奥帕特拉七世的姑母,后者后来宣布自己是克里奥帕特拉·西娅第二。希腊化统治者的雕像,在古罗马时期仍然很受流行,这些雕像装饰着知识分子精英们的雕像馆和图书馆,提醒着人们其生活的辉煌。

状况

完整无缺;表面风化但已清理;有几处凹坑和缺口;有锈迹;鼻尖破损。

出处

1913年以前的艺术品市场;

曾由Karl Wittgenstein(1847-1913)私人收藏,奥地利维也纳;

然后由其女Margaret Wittgenstein-Stonborough(1882-1958)继承;

然后再由后裔继承。一张照片显示了1931年在Wittgenstein家中展出的该头像。

展出记录

2017年TEFAF纽约展

参考文献

WALKER S., HIGGS P.,编,《埃及艳后:从历史到神话》(Cleopatra of Egypt: From History to Myth)。伦敦,2001年,第87页,编号92-94。

BURSTEIN S.M.,《埃及艳后的统治》(The Reign of Cleopatra),诺曼(Norman),2007年,第78-79页。

Roman Marble Head of a Goddess

Roman · 2nd century A.D.

Material

Marble

Dimensions

H: 30.4 cm (12 in)

Reference

34839

Price

POR

Download PDF

Inquire

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Overview

At the first glance, this beautiful female head with a diadem appears to be the head of a goddess represented in the Archaistic style, i.e. imitating the Greek Archaic (ancient) style; such an attribution would be based on the shape of the corkscrew curls. The most typical arrangement of the hairstyle of an Archaistic goddess, however, is different and almost always has long hair parted in the middle of the head and set in several long stiff spiral locks which are put symmetrically on the sides at the shoulders; in addition, the flaps of curving locks hang down in front of each ear.

Although two similar thick corkscrew locks are prominently seen at the temples of this head, their shape looking like the flaps, and the row of shorter corkscrew curls form the lower part of the hairstyle, the rest of the hairstyle is unalike. It consists of the tresses of hair rolled around the top of the head in a kind of a turban which is typical for the hairstyle of the Roman ladies of the Trajan-Hadrian period (the beginning – first third of the 2nd century A.D.). One finds a similar patern of triangular segments of the tresses in the hairstyle of the time, and also in the portraits of the empress Sabina, wife of Hadrian.

This particular feature helps to date the marble head quite precisely, but leaving the question of the represented person open (in the case of a complete figure, a special garment or additional attribute could help with the identification). The diadem indicates either goddess or queen, as well as the possibility remains for an idealized individual presented in the guise of a goddess or queen.

The stiff spiral locks are equally typical for the hairstyle of the Egyptian goddesses such as Isis or Hathor in the representations of the Hellenistic period. Their iconography was adopted for the images of the Ptolemaic queens. The combination of the vertical rows above the forehead (the stylized short spiral locks), the larger side corkscrews and the diadem in this head resemble the look of the Ptolemaic princess Cleopatra, daughter of Ptolemy VI and Cleopatra II, known in history as Cleopatra Thea (the Goddess). Her images are testified in the numismatic material. She became the Seleucid queen, was wife of three Seleucid kings and the mother of three other. A remarkable woman, she even ruled on her own, an unprecedented case in the history of the Seleucid empire. She was great aunt of Cleopatra VII who later announced herself as the second Cleopatra Thea. The portraits of the Hellenistic rulers remained popular in the Roman period, they adorned the portrait galleries and libraries of the educated elite, reminding of the grandeur of their life.

Condition

Complete; surface weathered and cleaned; a few pits and chips in places; rusty stains; the tip of the nose is broken off.

Provenance

Art market, prior to 1913;

Ex- Karl Wittgenstein (1847-1913) private collection, Vienna, Austria;

Thence by descent to his daughter, Margaret Wittgenstein-Stonborough (1882-1958);

Thence by descent. A photograph shows the head on display at the Wittgenstein home in 1931.

Exhibited

TEFAF, New York, 2017

Bibliography

WALKER S., HIGGS P., eds, Cleopatra of Egypt: From History to Myth, London, 2001, p. 87, nos. 92-94.

BURSTEIN S.M., The Reign of Cleopatra, Norman, 2007, pp. 78-79.